33.8 F
Chicago
Monday, December 6, 2021
Home20 Question Tuesday20 Questions with AGA Senior Kelsye Kurtiak

20 Questions with AGA Senior Kelsye Kurtiak

AGA Senior Kelsye Kurtiak has had much success in her gymnastics career, winning Level 9 Eastern Nationals at only 12 years old, then continuing onto qualify for 3 JO Nationals at Level 10. Kelsye has seen ups & downs in the sport of Gymnastics, but always seems to have a smile on her face. Kelsye is on her way to finishing up her Senior year as an AGA & Region 5 gymnast, undecided on her college plans as of right now, but she wants to embark on a collegiate gymnastics career post graduation. I want to wish Kelsye all the best of luck as she closes out this season and decides where to take her gymnastics talents in the fall. Lets get to know AGA Senior Kelsye Kurtiak a little better as she tumbles towards Championship Season.

How did you get into gymnastics? How old were you My parents put me in a class when I was 2 years old, I’ve been doing it ever since.

What is your favorite event? Floor. I love being able to show off my routine.
What is your favorite part of gymnastics? My favorite part of gymnastics would probably be meeting all the new people that I do when we travel, and going all the places we do!

What college do you plan on attending? I haven’t chosen a school yet.

What is your favorite meet to compete at? My favorite meet to compete at is probably J.O. Nationals, because everyone comes together for region 5 and the energy level is so high!!

Biggest accomplishment in gymnastics so far?
I think my biggest accomplishment would be placing 5th on floor at J.O. Nationals in 2013!


Favorite skill to train and/or compete? My favorite skill to train is a full in on floor.

Dream skill? Front 2&1/2 twist

Who do you admire most in the sport of gymnastics? Laurie Hernandez

What is your all-time favorite leotard? Do you still have your very first leo?
My all-time favorite leo is probably our current competition ones, I just love the blue and the lace! I don’t have the very first practice leo I had anymore but I do have my very first competition leo.

What is your favorite movie? Pitch Perfect

What is your go to playlist or song before a meet? I don’t really have a specific playlist I listen too, but normally it’s a mix of pop, country, and rap.

What do you wanna be when you grow up? I either want to be a nurse or a psychologist.

Where do you go to high school? I go to Swartz Creek High School in Swartz Creek, MI.

What is your favorite color? My favorite color is purple.

What do you like to do outside of gymnastics? I like to hang out with my friends, and go to hockey games.

Favorite gymnastics moment? My favorite gymnastics moment was in 6th grade when I won level 9 Easterns. I had no idea what any of my scores were or how I’d placed, so when they called my name for first all around I had no idea it was coming!! The feeling I had that day was so cool.

If you weren’t a gymnast what sport would you try? If I hadn’t become I gymnast I probably would have ended up playing hockey.


If you could live anywhere in the world where would you live? I would want to live in Florida by the beach.

If you could have lunch with anyone dead or alive who would it be and why? I would eat lunch with my great grandma who passed away in 2009, just so I could see her and talk to her again.

Tell me something interesting about yourself……Something interesting about me is that my parents actually had my cats pick my name before I was born. They put their choices on paper and wadded it up in to a ball and the cats picked Kelsye three times in a row!

 

 

 

Kelsye Vault 2016 JO Nationals vault

RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular